Basics.

With the end of classes for today we officially have only two weeks left in Letterkenny, Co Donegal, Ireland. In some ways it seems as though the minutes have turned to hours and these next two weeks will never end, but when I look back on the trip I can hardly believe I’ve been living in Ireland for a month already. It’s as if I just arrived yesterday.

Through some of these blogs you’ve seen accounts of our excursions, but perhaps its time you actually met Letterkenny.

Our apartment complex, Ballyraine, has been an excellent home for us here in Letterkenny. My apartment was lucky enough to find leftover dishes from the previous tenants, so we didn’t have to deal with attempting to furnish our apartment with anything else. The staff is incredibly friendly and always willing to help us poor Americans figure out life in Ireland. Aside from the first few weeks of laundry horror stories, we haven’t had any issues with our temporary home.

We spend most of our extra time at the Regional Cultural Center in town. Not only are they our hosts for the summer, they are the main center involved with The Earagail Arts Festival.

The center is where we meet for classes every Tuesday and Thursday, and we use their auditorium on Wednesday evenings for film screenings.

The thing that I love most about the RCC is the Hands On room. The room changes periodically based on what exhibits are being featured in the art gallery of the RCC. The Hands On room has various stations of basic art projects inspired by the works on display. Part of our job as volunteers for the center is to work in this room during the hours the public can come visit.

But last week when I worked with Erin, no one came, so it was more of a fun arts and crafts day than a work day.

My masterpiece hanging on the gallery wall.

Overall I greatly enjoy my time spent in the RCC. There is always fantastic art to look at and an interesting person to talk to. I think it’s the one thing I’l miss most of all from our summer in Letterkenny.

x Emily

This entry was posted in Emily, Life Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment