What Happened to Our Summer???

It’s here… The last week in Ireland. I can’t believe this is happening? Where did my summer go and how am I going to function without this group?!

So many people look back on life and think that the best parts are getting married, having kids, and all that other stuff. Those things are great and all but this trip will probably be one of the coolest things I will ever have done. In my opinion, it takes a lot of courage to pack up your life and travel out of your comfort zone to a new country with people you don’t know. While I was packing to leave Ohio I was really nervous and I wondered if this trip was going to be worth everything that I was leaving behind. Looking back I cannot believe that I felt that way! This trip has been one of the best experiences of my life!

For me it wasn’t just the fact that I was in Ireland that made this trip so great. It was the people I got to share it with. I have never met a group of people that were so different and mixed together so well. Before coming to Letterkenny I heard horror stories about study abroad trips gone wrong because the groups did not get along and all that nonsense. After living with everyone for six weeks, I can honestly say that I would love to hang out with any of them back in Athens. We all became a family while we were here. Granted a very dysfunctional one, but a family nonetheless. All of my favorite memories from this trip involve some one from the group!

I am so thankful that I got to have this experience. Even though this last week is stressful I still find myself amazed that I am in Ireland. Usually reminding myself of this fact makes me less stressed… The people and places I got to see while here were awesome! Our trips to Galway, the Aran Islands, Derry, and Dublin were such a blast and Letterkenny itself was always a good time! One of the things I will never forget about Ireland are how open and helpful the people are. I mean, besides the crazy lady we me in the Aran Islands I have not had a negative experience with anyone!

I am looking forward to heading back to the States though. There are a few things that I have missed like the sun, sarcasm that I can understand, condiments that I don’t have to pay for, and constantly warm water. Oh, and I guess my family and friends… haha just kidding. I miss them too! But once again, I am so happy that I took this opportunity! Loved the experience and the group that came!

Cheers!

Caitlin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment